bar_big image

Brad Mehldau Trio to Release 'Where Do You Start' September 18

Anthony Dean-Harris
Editor-in-Chief / @i_ADH

In the ongoing adventures of Brad Mehldau pushing forward into new, interesting directions, his trio of Larry Grenadier on bass and Jeff Ballard on drums are about to release their second album this year, Where Do You Start, on the Nonesuch label on September 18th.

The album made up mostly of covers is available now for pre-order at the Nonesuch online store. Upon pre-ordering, an instant download of Mehldau's original composition, "Jam", is available. Judging from the tracklist below, it looks like it'll be a pretty good album sure to explore more depths for this group (and may be reminiscent of this trio's debut album in its current form, 2005's Day Is Done). I'm just excited they've finally recorded a studio version of Sufjan Stevens' "Holland". Mark September 18 on your calendars, folks.

1. Got Me Wrong (Jerry Cantrell)
2. Holland (Sufjan Stevens)
3. Brownie Speaks (Clifford Brown)
4. Baby Plays Around (Elvis Costello & Cait O’Riordan)
5. Airegin (Sonny Rollins)
6. Hey Joe (Billy Roberts)
7. Samba e Amor (Chico Buarque)
8. Jam (Brad Mehldau)
9. Time Has Told Me (Nick Drake)
10. Aquelas Coisas Todas (Toninho Horta)
11. Where Do You Start? (Johnny Mandel, Marilyn Bergman & Alan Bergman)