David Lyttle Releases ‘Faces’

I hadn’t heard of David Lyttle before I contacted Lyte Records, the label he runs, regarding Aidan Carroll’s Original Vision. Since then I’ve been following Lyte Records on Twitter and noticed tweets about Lyttle’s new release Faces which I didn’t pay much attention to until yesterday when he mentioned a collaboration with legendary rapper Talib Kweli. I headed over to Lyte Records’ YouTube channel and found the following four gems off Lyttle’s Faces.

“The Second Line” is the aforementioned track featuring Talib Kweli, David Lyttle on vocals, keyboards, drums, percussion, Tom Harrison on saxophone and Keith Duffy on bass. It’s an upbeat, groovy track with slick verses by Kweli and a catchy hook by Lyttle. Thoroughly enjoyable.

[arve url=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/sEgBRka05iA”/]

“Lullaby for the Lost” is my favorite track of the four. It features rappers Illspokinn & Homecut, saxophone powerhouse Joe Lovano, bassist Keith Duffy and David Lyttle on keyboards, drums and percussion. The track is mellow and soulful, features great verses by both Illspokinn and Homecut and is augmented by the beautiful and melodic sound of Lovano’s tenor.

[arve url=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/9ZZS4BGHQqc”/]

“Detour” is a funky song with hints of electronic and house music featuring the vocals of Rhea Lyttle, Eoin Walsh on guitar, Jan Hutchinson on violin, and once again Keith Duffy on bass and David Lyttle on keyboards, drums and percussion.

[arve url=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/rkIlzv4VADk”/]

Finally, “Seek” is a beautiful ballad with Anne Lyttle on vocals, Jason Rebello on piano, John Leighton on organ, Keith Duffy on bass and David Lyttle on drums and percussion and features a deeply moving piano solo by Rebello.

[arve url=”https://www.youtube.com/embed/ItkjN65egME”/]

Just from these four tracks, Lyttle showcases true talent and versatility as a musician, composer and producer making Faces look like a real standout album for 2015. Can’t wait to listen to it in its entirety!