Watch the Video for Trumpeter Marquis Hill’s “To You I Promise” from New Album ‘Love Tape’

Enlightened trumpeter and winner of the 2014 Monk Competition (or rather the newly-minted Hancock Competition) Marquis Hill is returning October 11th with a new album entitled Love Tape via the Black Unlimited Music Group label.

Following along the lines of his 2017 EP Meditation Tape, Hill tackles the theme of love, more specifically self-love, with music inspired by a collection of interviews of black women sharing their perspective on the subject and featuring spoken word vignettes by such luminaries as Eartha Kitt, Phylicia Rashad, and Abbey Lincoln. “Women are an essential part of who we are,” says Hill “yet their opinions are often overlooked and disregarded.”

Joining Hill on the album is pianist/keyboardist Michael King, bassist Junius Paul, and drummer Marcus Gilmore, with production assistance from drummer/producer Makaya McCraven and producer Charles Haynes, as well as the vocal stylings of Christie Dashiell.

Watch the official music video for “To You I Promise”, the first single from Love Tape below and if you’re in NYC catch the record release show October 8th at Baby’s All Right.

Official Music Video for Marquis Hill’s “To You I Promise”

Love Tape, the new album by trumpeter Marquis Hill drops October 11 via Black Unlimited Music Group.

Love Tape Tracklist

1 “Roy’s Intro”
2 “Beautiful Us”
3 “Won’t You Celebrate With Me?”
4 “Unconditional” (Interlude)
5 “To You I Promise”
6 “I Believe In Love”
7 “Confessions Of The Heart” (Interlude)
8 “A New Life” (feat. Josh Johnson)
9 “Wednesday Love” (feat. Christie Dashiell)

Photo by Lauren Desberg.