Frank Ocean and BADBADNOTGOOD Deliver Unforgettable Performance at Coachella 2012

Frank Ocean x BADBADNOTGOOD at Coachella 2012 (Full Set)

Coachella 2012 witnessed a mesmerizing collaboration that left attendees and music enthusiasts worldwide spellbound. The opening day of the festival saw Frank Ocean, an artist known for his soulful melodies and introspective lyrics, joining forces with the Toronto-based jazz trio BADBADNOTGOOD. This collaboration came on the heels of BBNG‘s sophomore album release, BBNG2, showcasing their evolution and readiness to blend genres seamlessly.

Frank Ocean x BADBADNOTGOOD at Coachella 2012 (Full Set Video)

The set was a journey through Ocean’s discography, featuring a mix of his well-loved singles and a surprise Bob Dylan cover that showcased his versatility and deep appreciation for music’s vast landscape. BADBADNOTGOOD, known for their innovative fusion of jazz, hip-hop, and electronic music, provided the perfect backdrop to Ocean’s vocals, creating a symbiotic performance that resonated with the Coachella crowd.

The set kicked off with a cover of Bob Dylan’s “Long Time Gone,” a bold choice that paid off, highlighting Ocean’s ability to cross genre boundaries and reinterpret classics through his unique lens. The audience was then treated to a series of Ocean’s hits, including “Thinkin Bout You,” “Swim Good,” and “Novacane,” each song delivered with the emotional depth and vocal precision that Ocean is celebrated for.

A highlight of the set was “Strawberry Swing,” a cover of Coldplay‘s hit, which Ocean made his own, infusing it with his signature style. The performance of “Analog 2,” featuring Tyler, the Creator, was another standout moment, bringing an electric energy to the stage that only heightened the crowd’s excitement.

The collaboration with BADBADNOTGOOD added a new dimension to Ocean’s music, with the trio’s jazz-infused arrangements bringing a fresh vibrancy to his songs. The fusion of Ocean’s R&B and soul with BBNG’s jazz elements was a testament to the power of musical collaboration, creating a set that was both innovative and deeply moving.

The set concluded with “White,” a serene and introspective piece that perfectly encapsulated the mood of the evening. As the final notes faded, it was clear that this performance was not just a highlight of Coachella 2012 but a significant moment in contemporary music, showcasing the boundless possibilities when artists from different backgrounds and genres come together.

It’s a performance that will be remembered for years to come, not just for the music but for the message of unity and exploration it represented. Coachella 2012 may have come and gone, but the impact of Frank Ocean and BADBADNOTGOOD’s set will resonate far beyond the festival grounds, continuing to inspire both artists and fans alike.

Set List

  1. Long Time Gone (Bob Dylan)
  2. Thinkin’ Bout You
  3. Strawberry Swing (Coldplay)
  4. Swim Good
  5. Analog 2 (feat. Tyler the Creator)
  6. Whip Appeal
  7. Voodoo
  8. Lovecrimes
  9. Novacane
  10. White