Chance the Rapper, Donnie Trumpet & the Social Experiment Release New Album ‘Surf’ (Video + Download)

Fans have been eagerly awaiting a follow-up to Chance the Rapper’s 2013 mixtape Acid Rap since it more or less broke the Internet, and on Friday they got the next best thing.

Surf is the debut album from Donnie Trumpet & The Social Experiment, which began as Chance’s backup band. The group consists of Donnie Trumpet (aka 21-year-old Nico Segal), Peter Cottontale, Nate Fox, and Chance. Although Chance is given plenty of time to shine, other well-known hip-hop artists, including BJ the Chicago Kid, Busta Rhymes, Janelle Monáe, Erykah Badu, and many others, also make appearances during the 16-track album.

Surf mixes jazz and hip-hop in the vein of Kendrick Lamar’s To Pimp a Butterfly. With an all-star cast of rappers and singers, Donnie Trumpet pushes the boundaries of how a trumpet can sound.

Check out the awesome one-take video of the album’s second-last track, “Sunday Candy” below. You can download Surf for free on iTunes if you reside in the US or on for everyone else.

[arve url=””/]