bar_big image

Robert Glasper Experiment to Release 'Black Radio 2' October 29th

Anthony Dean-Harris
Editor-in-Chief / @i_ADH

It's been a little over a year since the Robert Glasper Experiment's Black Radio won over jazz, R&B, hip hop, and music fans in general the world over, winning the Grammy for Best R&B album. A follow up in the same vein was bound to happen and from the looks of things, Black Radio 2, will be better than ever. The upcoming album, out October 29th, will features more original songs ( this album only has one cover) and a slight change-up in the line up of Glasper on keys, Derrick Hodge on bass, Casey Benjamin on vocoder and saxophone, and Mark Colenburg on drums (who often plays with the group in live settings and will be taking the place of Chris "Daddy" Dave on this release). Check out more info, the tracklist, and a stream of "Calls" featuring Jill Scott after the jump.

The group will be playing alongside guests like Jill Scott, Dwele, Anthony Hamilton, Faith Evans, Fall Out Boy's Patrick Stump, Snoop Dogg/Lion, Common, Lupe Fiasco, Lalah Hathaway, Malcolm-Jamal Warner, Marsha Ambrosius, Norah Jones, and Emili Sandé. You can stay up on the RGE through their iPhone app. That should keep you well aware and entertained at least until October when Black Radio 2 (with its album art by JC Pagan of those Blue Note album covers with President Obama and KRTU San Antonio's The Blue Note Hour show) spreads across the world with the same amount of fervor as its predecessor.

1. Baby Tonight (Black Radio Intro)
2. I Stand Alone featuring Common and Patrick Stump
3. What Are We Doing featuring Brandy
4. Calls featuring Jill Scott
5. No Worries featuring Dwele
6. Trust featuring Marsha Ambrosius
7. Yet To Find featuring Anthony Hamilton
8. You Own Me featuring Faith Evans
9. Let It Ride featuring Norah Jones
10. Persevere featuring Snoop Dogg and Lupe Fiasco
11. Somebody Else featuring Emeli Sandé
12. Jesus Children of America featuring Lalah Hathaway and Malcolm-Jamal Warner

Black Radio 2 will be released October 29, 2013 on Blue Note Records.