bar_big image

Medeski, Martin, and Wood with Nels Cline to Release 'Woodstock Sessions' April 15th

Ben Gray
Contributing Writer

Medeski, Martin, and Wood have been putting together heavy grooves with Medeski’s organ and keyboard sounds for a couple of decades now. They have collaborated with Scotty Hard, DJ Logic and DJ Olive, among others, bringing electronic textures into the music and with lots of other forward-thinking musicians (the Antibalas horns, Marc Ribot, Danny Blume, John Scofield, Charlie Hunter, etc., etc.). Most recently, the trio collaborated with guitarist Nels Cline (from Wilco) to record Woodstock Sessions, a live album recorded in the studio. Woodstock Sessions will be available on April 15, but you can pre-order through iTunes and get a free download of the track "Jade" ahead of the full-album release.

Check out "Jade" and "Bonjour Breeze" from the album after the jump.

Beyond the Woodstock Sessions album, MMW will be touring Europe with Nels Cline. Tour dates and show information are here.
27 March - VAULX-en-VELIN, France- Centre Culturel Charlie Chaplin
28 March - STAVANGER, Norway - Folken
29 March - DORTMUND, Germany - Domicil
01 March - CAEN, France - Grand Auditorium de Caen
02 April - EPINAY (Paris), France - Pole Musical d'Orgemont (PMO)
03 April - RÜSSELSHEIM, Germany - Theater Rüsselsheim
04 April - ISTANBUL, Turkey - Babylon
05 April - CULLY, Switzerland - Chapiteau
06 April - LONDON, England - Under The Bridge
07 April - LUGANO, Switzerland - Radio RSI
08 April - MILANO, Italy - Blue Note Milano
08 April - MILANO, Italy - Blue Note Milano
11 April - VOSS, Norway - Vossa Jazz
12 April - KRAKOW, Poland - Muzeum Sztuki i Techniki Japoñskiej Manggha